Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Non-Book Blogs/Sites I Read

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a topic and encourage fellow bloggers to list their own top ten answers. This week’s prompt was to list the Top Ten Blogs/Sites You Read That AREN’T about Books. It will be so interesting to see how differently (or similarly) everyone’s tastes run! My list is below.

1. The Hairpin & The Awl
These sister sites are incredibly intelligent, whimsical, and poignant, by turns. I check them both every day and highly, highly recommend them.

2. 2 Birds, 1 Blog
Updates are sporadic, but when these two blogging friends are on, they are ON, sharing bizarre stories of public transportation hijinks, “weekend hair,” and what MD 20-20 tastes like. I’m jealous of people who are unfamiliar with them and can go through their archives, reading their posts for the first time.

3. Tumblr
Probably the biggest time-suck on this list. (Feel free to follow me on Tumblr–my username is tarynwanderer.)

4. Slate
This is mostly for the “Dear Prudence” column, but I will click around when something catches my eye…even if it’s just comment-baiting.

5. Videogum
I only recently discovered this site, but it routinely makes me laugh out loud. Just last week the comments on this post had me crying, I was laughing so hard. The best and funniest commenters on the web, bar none.

6. io9
While  I don’t really read Gawker or its properties anymore, I have stayed very loyal to io9. They do great reviews and round-ups of science fiction and fantasy books, in addition to funny lists and science news.

7. Topless Robot
For a similar audience as io9, TR covers nerdy comic books, movies, television, and everything in between with tongue firmly in-cheek. (For those of you with strong constitutions–and I mean it, these are incredibly NSFW–check out their skewering of terrible smutty fanfic on Fanfiction Fridays.)

8. Hark, a Vagrant!
For a while there, Kate Beaton was the internet’s best-kept secret. It’s really nice to see her (and her hilarious, history- and literature-themed webcomics) get the attention they deserve!

9. A  Bad Case of the Dates
I have to admit, this one is purely for the LOLZ.

10. Get Off My Internets (GOMI)
A very guilty pleasure, where twee mommybloggers, inept fashion bloggers, and holier-than-thou lifestyle bloggers are taken to task for their offenses.

9 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Non-Book Blogs/Sites I Read”


  1. 1 Tanya Patrice May 22, 2012 at 9:34 am

    GOMI is my guilty pleasure too. I don’t check it all the time, but the snark on there is crazy – it helps bloggers to not take them too seriously – or else cry that there are people on the internet who don’t like them/ their sites.

  2. 2 rubybastille May 22, 2012 at 10:25 am

    I need to remember to visit The Hairpin more – they’re great, and friendlier than Jezebel. io9 is awesome, too, I should have remembered them!

  3. 3 Linda May 22, 2012 at 11:09 am

    GOMI is a great guilty pleasure!

  4. 4 Kristina Ebert May 22, 2012 at 11:28 am

    I have never even tried tumblr, I’m trying to stay away from adding more of those sites to my time, that and Pintrest I have stayed away from so far.

    Here is my Top 10

    http://kristina-worldofbooks.blogspot.com/2012/05/top-ten-tuesday-18.html

  5. 5 Angela @ AJ Arndt Books Blog May 22, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    I like to read GOMI. Sometimes soooo funny.

    • 6 tarynwanderer May 30, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      Wow, looks like we have a lot of secret GOMI readers! I’ve even commented once or twice, but I honestly don’t think I’m funny or sarcastic enough to keep up with the catladies and catgents over there.

  6. 7 readerbuzz May 22, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    It’s fascinating that I not only have never been to any of these, but I’ve never even heard of any but one!

  7. 8 Darlene (@lbandlovely) May 22, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    Great post! I haven’t seen very many of the sites you posted, but I do really like The Hairpin and I also really like looking on tumblr occasionally! Thanks for sharing your picks!

    Darlene @ Leather Bound and Lovely

  8. 9 Ave December 28, 2012 at 2:13 am

    Thanks for sharing this list. It made me realize that there are still a lot out there aside from Tumblr.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 109 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

