Friday Finds (Mar 12)!

Friday Finds are hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. What books were you introduced to this week?

This week, I was intrigued by Jan’s Teaser Tuesday over at Eating YA Books. That’s why Pastworld, by Ian Beck, is my Friday Find today!

The description, via Amazon:

In 2050, civilization has become sterile, controlled, peaceful, and very, very boring. In an effort to capitalize on the ennui of the rich and famous, Buckland Corporation has created the ultimate vacation destination: Pastworld, a city modeled after 19th-century London where visitors also known as “gawkers” can immerse themselves in a Victorian world complete with grueling poverty, near-primitive medicine, lawlessness, and a casual disregard for human life. When 17-year-old Caleb Brown enters Pastworld with his father, one of the theme park’s creators, he is unwittingly embroiled in a Scotland Yard investigation of a series of Jack the Ripper-style murders. Befriended by a young pickpocket and a beautiful girl with amnesia, he fights for his life and future in the dark underbelly of Pastworld.

The central idea reminds me a bit of Connie Willis’s fantastic time travel book, Doomsday Book–one of the only sci-fi novels I’ve ever read that made me WEEP. Literally weep. If it’s anything at all like that, it sounds like I’d love it.

What’s YOUR Friday Find? 🙂

17 Responses to “Friday Finds (Mar 12)!”


  1. 1 Lisa March 12, 2010 at 9:03 am

    ohh I like the sound of this one.

    Oh yes lots of books this week for me haha.

  2. 3 Missy March 12, 2010 at 9:40 am

    It sounds very intriguing!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today…have a great weekend!

  3. 5 Diane March 12, 2010 at 9:51 am

    Oh Boy…Past Worlds sounds like my kind of book. Thanks 4 bringing it to my attention.

  4. 7 Aleksandra March 12, 2010 at 10:06 am

    I think I saw Pastworld at Eating YA Books, too!
    I never remember where I’ve found the books 😉
    Haven’t heard of Doomsday Book, but it sounds great, too!
    I’ll add it on my tbr pile!
    Enjoy your weekend!

    • 8 tarynwanderer March 12, 2010 at 1:55 pm

      I’m trying to keep better track of where I find my books–normally I never remember where I’ve seen them, either.

      OMG, you’re going to love Doomsday Book. I think Connie Willis is one of the best sci-fi/fantasy authors I’ve ever read!

  5. 9 Stephanie March 12, 2010 at 10:19 am

    I am always intrigued by dystopian fiction, and this looks really good!

  6. 11 Christina T March 12, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Wow this looks great! I am definitely adding it to my TBR list.

  7. 13 Amanda Leigh March 12, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    This looks great! Another book to add to my tbr list!

    Here are my finds: Not-Really-Southern Vamp Chick

  8. 15 justbookreading March 12, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    This one does sounds good. Thanks for stopping by my blog today.

  9. 16 Aths March 12, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    I’m pretty curious about this book too! Good choice!

  10. 17 Andrea March 12, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    I have Pastworld in my HUGE TBR pile…I need to get around to it!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 124 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


