Tidbit of Books on the Go/The Book Man

I haven’t been good lately about keeping tracks of the books I’ve been seeing on the subway. However! I just got a new phone (one of them Droid thingys) and it’s awesome, and also lets me take notes inconspiculously. So I’ll be paying better attention from now on!

Saw an older man in a suit this morning reading a James Patterson that looked like it was from the library.

A younger woman was reading A Reliable Wife, by Robert Goolrick, which reminded me that I too want to read it, despite some mixed reviews I saw.

And this isn’t really a Book on the Go, but I wanted to share. Because of the nice weather we had in New York last week, my friendly neighborhood Book Man was set up in my nabe! He’s an older man, perhaps of Eastern European descent, who sets up two tables of books (hardcovers on one, paperbacks on the other) on 30th Ave in Astoria. I used to live in Jackson Heights, which is where I first met the Book Man–he sets up his tables there too!

Anyway, it’s kind of magical–he’s always got ONE book that I really want, in a sea of romances and thrillers and diet books. This weekend I picked up Heart-Shaped Box, by Joe Hill, and Jewel, by Brett Lott, for 50 cents each. Thanks Book Man!

0 Responses to “Tidbit of Books on the Go/The Book Man”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 124 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


