Teaser Tuesday (April 6)

Teaser Tuesdays are a bookish meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser this week is from Heart-Shaped Box, by Joe Hill. I started it yesterday and can’t put it down, though it was scaring the bejeezus out of me.

Something icy and sharp and hard lightly grazed his cheek, and he opened his eyes and saw the dead man’s curved razor in his hand, the blue-steel blade reflecting an image of his own wide, staring eyeball. Jude shouted and flung it down, then looked at the floor, but already it wasn’t there.

AHHHH!

(Also, a little programming note: I no longer think I’ll be able to update this blog every day. That makes something fun into something stressful. So! From now on, I’ll be updating a few times a week, no schedule.)

19 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday (April 6)”


  1. 1 Jennifer April 6, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Awesome teaser! This sounds like I novel I would like and I am adding this to my TBR list.

  2. 3 Jennifer G. April 6, 2010 at 8:39 am

    I really need to read this and Horns. I’ve read his short story collection, 20th Century Ghost, and really enjoyed it!

  3. 5 Lisa April 6, 2010 at 9:28 am

    this sounds like something I like to read

    Here’s mine.

  4. 6 kaye April 6, 2010 at 10:22 am

    That’s quite the heart pounding teaser! when blogging becomes a chore, it’s time to cut back. Do what is good for you! Have a great week.

  5. 7 kashicat April 6, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    That is a creepy and eerie and wonderful teaser! Well chosen! Now I’m really intrigued by the book.

    Meanwhile, my own teaser is at Bookishgal.

    And it really is less stressful when you only need to post when you’re inspired. Some days you’ll find five interesting things to post about one after the other, and then you’ll go a few days. It’s good not to make this into a heavy chore.

    • 8 tarynwanderer April 7, 2010 at 8:11 am

      Thanks!

      And that’s a good idea: only post when I’m really excited to share something! Otherwise it does feel more like a chore. And who likes chores?!

  6. 9 Lori @ Escape Between The Pages April 6, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    You should have fun with your blog, if it stops being fun, then you need to take a break. Completely understandable. Cool teaser. I hope that you will enjoy your book. [My Tuesday Teaser]

    • 10 tarynwanderer April 7, 2010 at 8:23 am

      Yeah, I think I just need to pull back a bit, and focus on why I started it in the first place: reviews! 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

  7. 11 Alayne April 6, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    Great teaser, super creepy. Mine is at The Crowded Leaf.

  8. 12 Maria April 6, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Very creepy teaser. I am definitely add this to my TBR list!

  9. 13 Whitney April 6, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Fascinating teaser, but majorly creepy. Looks like a great read!

  10. 14 alitareads April 6, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Eeeps! I think this one is probably to scary for me! I hope you make it through nightmare-free 😉

  11. 16 Iris April 7, 2010 at 4:16 am

    This sounds a little too scary for me!

    I think it’s a good idea not to pressure yourself into writing a post every day. A few times a week is fine. Blogging should be for your own pleasure, right?

  12. 18 Heather (WordTrix) April 13, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    Sounds creepy and not at all like my kind of book. I am glad you like it, though!

    • 19 tarynwanderer April 13, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      Haha, the quote I picked is definitely creepy, though the book itself is really more sad than anything. Flynn’s father was an alcoholic and homeless for years. I didn’t think I’d like it either–not being a huge fan of memoirs–but I’m glad I tried it!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 125 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


