Waiting on Wednesday (Apr 7)

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine. It’s a meme that helps us share the not-yet-released books we can’t wait to read!

Now I love me some Phillip Pullman. His Dark Materials has got to be one of my favorite series–for a long time, whenever someone disparaged YA lit, I would pull out The Golden Compass as my trump card in proving them wrong. So how excited was I to discover that Pullman is publishing something else? (It’s a bit of a cheat for Waiting on Wednesday, though, as it came out April 1, 2010…but hey, I’m still waiting to read it!)

My WoW is Pullman’s latest, The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ. The description, via Amazon:

This is a story. In this ingenious and spell-binding retelling of the life of Jesus, Philip Pullman revisits the most influential story ever told. Charged with mystery, compassion and enormous power, The Good Man Jesus and the Scoundrel Christ throws fresh light on who Jesus was and asks the reader questions that will continue to resonate long after the final page is turned. For, above all, this book is about how stories become stories.

What’s your WoW this week? 🙂

3 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (Apr 7)”


  1. 1 Alayne April 7, 2010 at 10:01 am

    This sounds like a pretty daring novel! I loved the His Dark Materials series though. My WOW is at The Crowded Leaf.

  2. 2 Jan @ Eating Y.A. Books April 7, 2010 at 10:16 am

    I am a huge fan of Pullman’s writing and have long wished he would write some new young adult books. I may just have to get this one to see what it is about for my adult reading needs.

  3. 3 Jennifer G. April 8, 2010 at 3:58 am

    Pullman likes to push buttons, doesn’t he? I can’t remember if I ever finished His Dark Materials. I think I quit my high school job at the library before the last one was published. I really need to correct that sometime.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 125 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


