The New York Challenge – April Mini-Challenge!

For the April mini-challenge (part of the larger New York Reading Challenge), Jill of Fizzy Thoughts has decided that we should try to write a poem about New York.

Facts:

1. I spent longer than you’d believe working on this.
2. It’s based on a true story.
3. I never claimed to be a poet.

New York: A Haiku

It’s hard not to love
A place you buy truck tacos,
Even at four a.m.

And they are the spiciest freakin’ tacos (and burritos and sopes and etc) you will ever have. 😉

Now that you’ve subjected yourself to my poem, make sure to check out the other participants’ superior offerings by going to the challenge page I linked above!

18 Responses to “The New York Challenge – April Mini-Challenge!”


  1. 1 softdrink April 14, 2010 at 9:28 am

    A most excellent haiku!

    I know this wasn’t the easiest of challenges, so thanks for participating!

  2. 2 tarynwanderer April 14, 2010 at 9:56 am

    Haha, of course! Despite my complaining I did enjoy it. It’s nice to flex mental muscles I don’t normally use 🙂

  3. 3 brian April 14, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    nicely done…ad tacos are good anytime…smiles.

  4. 5 Ji April 14, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    very cool Haiku!
    😉

  5. 7 moondustwriter April 15, 2010 at 12:57 am

    glad you faced the challenge and did it
    well done!!!

    Leslie

  6. 9 Care April 15, 2010 at 6:38 am

    You’ve convinced me that I should try a truck taco when I’m in NYC! great poem.

    • 10 tarynwanderer April 15, 2010 at 8:11 am

      Oh, definitely!! There is so much great food here, though…I think you’re going to need five meals a day to experience it all. 🙂

  7. 13 impendwa April 15, 2010 at 7:48 am

    haiku’s are so hard. impossible for me to write, you have mastered the art well!

  8. 15 Kerry April 15, 2010 at 11:01 am

    I have a taco truck that parks on my corner every night after 7… needless to say they have a lot of my money and I have eaten farrrr to many truck tacos because of it 🙂

  9. 16 megzone April 15, 2010 at 11:23 am

    hey thats a super haiku there 🙂
    seemed funky.. 🙂

    im here from Jingle’s rally
    you can check my poem at:
    http://megzone.wordpress.com/2010/04/15/thursday-poets-rally-broken-mirrors/

  10. 18 Yousei Hime April 15, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    Love the haiku, but now I really want to know . . . what are “truck tacos?” 😉 Thanks for sharing this fun post.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 124 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


