Top Ten Tuesday: The Top Ten Books I’d Quickly Save If My House Was Going To Be Abducted By Aliens

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a topic and encourage fellow bloggers to list their own top ten answers. They are particularly fond of lists and I have to say, so am I! I like the idea of this meme because it’s a little more intensive and in-depth than some others I’ve seen. I don’t know that I’ll do it every week, but I liked this Tuesday’s topic: The Top Ten Books I’d Quickly Save If My House Was Going To Be Abducted By Aliens.

1. Passage, by Connie Willis
I couldn’t put this book down when I read it for the first time. It’s not only one of my favorite sci-fi/fantasy novels, but one of my favorite novels period. Willis’s conceptualization of what exists for us after death is eerie and sad but ultimately hopeful, too.

2. Doomsday Book, by Connie Willis
What can I say? I really like Connie Willis. She writes wonderfully real female characters and the coolest plots!

3. The Golden Notebook, by Doris Lessing
This should be mandatory reading for everyone who considers themselves feminists. (And actually, for people who don’t consider themselves feminists, either–maybe it will make them one.) I love my worn and dog-eared copy of this book, and would want to save it so I could continue to press it on my friends.

4. Blood Meridian, by Cormac McCarthy
I love reading about the American West, and nobody writes it like McCarthy. This is my favorite out of all his works; the Biblical imagery contrasts spectacularly against the savagery and senselessness of the Judge and his gang. Every time I read Blood Meridian, I realize something new.

5. Averno, by Louise Gluck
I hope poetry counts! This collection is haunting and lovely by turns. Gluck’s appropriation of the myth of Persephone and Hades into both a doomed love story and a struggle between mother and daughter and mother and husband is masterful. (Also, it’s a short collection and would help break up the longer texts I’ve included!)

6. The Prophet, by Kahlil Gibran
My high school guidance counselor gave me a copy of this eight years ago. I am still as enchanted by Gibran’s dreamy prose poetry now as I was as an 18 year old! His poems are also serve as some of the best possible inspiration for my own original writing.

7. The Sparrow, by Mary Doria Russell
I thought this was especially fitting for the alien theme, since the novel explores humanity’s interaction with a newly-discovered alien planet through the experiences of a team of Jesuits. The angst levels in this one are incredible.

8. The Birds of Ecuador Field Guide, by Robert S. Ridgely
I brought this guide with me on my three-month long study abroad trip to Ecuador and proceeded to carry it in my backpack the entire time I was there. My time in Ecuador helped take my interest in birds and make me into a real birdwatcher. Totally indispensable, beautifully-illustrated plates, and best of all, includes all of my penciled-in notations of when and where I saw each bird.

9. Open Veins of Latin America, by Eduardo Hughes Galeano
Speaking of my time in Ecuador…I read this book for the second time while I was there, and it made a huge impact in the way I think about Latin America and its relationship to the United States. The copy I have was my father’s original copy from when he was young, growing up in Mexico, and that makes it even more special to me.

10.  East of Eden, by John Steinbeck
One of my best friends gave me East of Eden, knowing of my love for novels that deal with the evil that lurks in the hearts of men (and women). Besides being my fave Steinbeck, my friend wrote a lovely inscription in the front, and even though I could replace the book, I wouldn’t be able to replace her kind words!

Whew! That was fun (and surprisingly easy)! So that’s my list. Check out others’ lists over at The Broke and the Bookish!

5 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: The Top Ten Books I’d Quickly Save If My House Was Going To Be Abducted By Aliens”


  1. 1 Tanya Patrice February 21, 2012 at 8:24 am

    I absolutely adore this list – I haven’t read not one book on here but now I’m going to have to get to some of the Connie Willis books – and some of the others sound super enticing as well

  2. 2 rubybastille February 21, 2012 at 11:15 am

    Welcome to TTT! Your list is making my list feel stupid. 😉 “East of Eden” is near the top of my to-read list, though!

  3. 3 Allison February 21, 2012 at 11:26 am

    I haven’t read any of these, but I’m particularly intrigued by the Connie Willis novels. Nice list!

  4. 5 1girl2manybooks February 21, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    I’ve never read anything by Connie Willis but I’m starting to get really intrigued now! Going to have to hunt some of her books down I think.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 124 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


