Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Spring To-Be-Read List

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a topic and encourage fellow bloggers to list their own top ten answers. This week’s prompt is the Top Ten Books on my Spring To-Be-Read List! While it’s always challenging to narrow down such a huge, already-existing list (my to-read list on GoodReads is currently at 188), I found this list a little easier than past weeks’! 🙂 Check out my list below and feel free to share links to your own in the comments!

Top Ten Books on my Spring To-Be-Read List:

1. Divergent, by Veronica Roth
While I wasn’t immediately moved to read this from its description, the glowing reviews and love I’ve seen for this book on GoodReads and blogs that I trust was enough to make me add this. And if it’s the next Hunger Games, like I’ve seen some suggest, I don’t want to be left out of the loop!

2. Townie, by Andre Dubus III
This one comes with a glowing recommendation from a friend who has similar taste in books. I have a bit of a bias against memoirs, but Townie sounds like one that I would really enjoy, as it was described by Richard Russo as an excellent meditation on “violence, its sources, consequences, and, especially, its terrifying pleasures.”

3. The Marriage Plot, by Jeffrey Eugenides
Like Divergent, I want to read this so I can join the existing dialogue around it! It’s also my last attempt at enjoying a Eugenides book…if I don’t like this one, after having read both The Virgin Suicides and Middlesex and finding them to be meh, he and I are breaking up.

4. A Queer and Pleasant Danger, by Kate Bornstein
I had the opportunity to hear Kate speak at a conference, and she was really wonderful and funny. Her life story sounds absolutely incredible, including but not limited to her creation of the idea of “gender outlaws.” I had no idea she was a Scientologist for years, for example!

5. Island of Vice: Theodore Roosevelt’s Doomed Quest to Clean Up Sin-Loving New York, by Richard Zacks
Being a New Yorker myself, I enjoy reading both historical fiction and nonfiction about New York City’s early years, especially when it’s based around gangs, drugs, and general vice. This sounds like it would be a great complement to books like The Alienist and Low Life.

6. The Knife of Never Letting Go, by Patrick Ness
I meant to read this when it first came out…and it just slipped my mind. I’ve been seeing it make the rounds on book blogs lately and that reminded me to put it at the top of my reading list!

7. Yes, Chef: A Memoir, by Marcus Samuelsson
Any fan of Top Chef worth their black truffle and olive oil sea salt should read this memoir. I’m looking forward to the next time I visit my family in NYC and get to visit Samuelsson’s Red Rooster restaurant for the first time!

8. The Starboard Sea, by Amber Dermont
I like reading about the lives of the rich and privileged, especially if they are hitting rock bottom. (And in fact, I get annoyed at books that don’t have them facing any consequences of their actions…I’m looking at you, The Privileges!) This novel is set at a New England boarding school during the 1980s, so it immediately caught my interest.

9. Taco, by John E. DeJesus
On the other hand, I also really enjoy books about much-less privileged individuals, who make a life for themselves in the face of oppression. Taco is about a Puerto Rican boy growing up in Brooklyn. (Again, love reading about NYC!)

10. Hemlock Grove, by Brian McGreevy
“The body of a young girl is found mangled and murdered in the woods of Hemlock Grove, Pennsylvania, in the shadow of the abandoned Godfrey Steel mill. A manhunt ensues—though the authorities aren’t sure if it’s a man they should be looking for” (via GoodReads). A murder-mystery/thriller with werewolf and/or vampire implications? Count me in. I can’t wait until this one comes out!

6 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books on my Spring To-Be-Read List”


  1. 1 Grad Student March 20, 2012 at 7:13 am

    I JUST read about the Teddy Roosevelt book- I live in the LES and can’t wait to read this book!

    I have been circling around the Knife of Never Letting Go, too. one day soon 🙂 Great list.

  2. 2 Tanya Patrice March 20, 2012 at 7:19 am

    I really liked Divergent but The Marriage Plot … not one of my favorites. And I feel the same way about The Knife of Never Letting Go – I’ve been meaning to read it for ages but I’m going to get to it this spring too.

  3. 3 vancie917 March 20, 2012 at 9:06 am

    Divergent is one I want to read as well. I’ve had it from the library twice now and haven’t gotten a chance to get to it before it was due. The Knife of Never Letting Go was awesome. Loved it. I did have to get beyond the talking dog in the beginning but I’m so glad I stuck with it. Great list!

  4. 4 The Bookworm Hun March 20, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    3 and 6 should be on my list too!

  5. 5 1girl2manybooks March 20, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    I have The Marriage Plot to read at some stage too, just not sure when I’ll get to it! My husband really enjoyed it but we don’t often love the same books so I’ll have to see how I go with it.

  6. 6 rubybastille March 21, 2012 at 9:10 am

    Divergent and Knife Of Never Letting Go are both on my long-term tbr list. I didn’t really enjoy Matched, which had the same “next Hunger Games” buzz surrounding it, so I’m hoping Divergent will live up to its hype!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 125 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


