Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a topic and encourage fellow bloggers to list their own top ten answers. This week’s prompt was to name the top ten books on our summer to-be-read lists.

And I’m cheating right off the bat, with two books slated to come out in fall 2012! But honestly, these are probably the two books on my list that I want to read the most desperately.

1. The Twelve, by Justin Cronin
This is the sequel to Passage, which I devoured but still felt a bit disappointed in. That doesn’t mean I won’t be reading this follow-up, if only for more information the Twelve, the originators of vampires.

2. This is How You Lose Her, by Junot Diaz
I actually know nothing about this book. I do know that I loved The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao though, so I want to read Diaz’s newest work.

3. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, by J.K Jemisin
This looks amazing. I’ve heard really good things from fantasy/sci-fi sites I trust!

4. Swamplandia!, by Karen Russell
I’ve reallllly been meaning to read this. I even had it out of the library but it got recalled before I had a chance to crack it open. I just discovered my hometown library has it as an e-book, and I’m on the waiting list. 🙂

5. Divergent, by Veronica Roth
I don’t tend to read a ton of YA, but I’m willing to make an exception to see what all the buzz is about. I’m actually considering using my grad student powers to have this book recalled back to the library!

6. The Sisters Brothers, by Patrick DeWitt
Jae over at BookNympho gave this a great review, which is how it got on my radar. Followers of this blog know that I’m a sucker for violent Westerns (luv u, Cormac McCarthy!) so this book is intriguing to me.

7. Bossypants, by Tina Fey
Lucky me–my friend just gave me this as a gift!

8. Admission, by Jean Hanff Korelitz
I love college tales. Bonus: I already own this.

9. The Power Broker, by Robert A. Caro
This summer may be the time to tackle the challenge of Caro’s  thousand-page masterpiece about Robert Moses. Maybe I’ll read it while laying out on the beach named after him.

10. I’ll keep this slot open, just in case. 😉

6 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR List”


  1. 1 April C (@booksandwine) June 19, 2012 at 8:34 am

    Oh, I am DYING to read The Twelve. I really liked the Passage, but like you wasn’t in love with the ending.

    Trust the recommendations for The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms. It’s a pretty great book.

    My Top Ten Tuesday

  2. 2 Book Nympho June 19, 2012 at 11:42 am

    I still haven’t read The Passage. In fact, I think I’ll add it to my summer reading list now that you’ve reminded me. Oh, and I want to read This is How You Lose Her! I saw Junot Diaz talking about it during BEA and it sounds really interesting. I’ve got Divergent on my list too. Hope you enjoy The Sisters Brothers and thanks for the shout out! 🙂

  3. 3 ohdizzle June 19, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    Oh, Bossypants is amazing! I liked Swampandia! too, though I feell ike it was slightly overhyped. Divergent is on my summer list too! Summer’s the perfect time for light YA, right?

  4. 4 Tanya Patrice June 19, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    I’m so loving this list because I pretty much want to read everything on it – especially The Twelve & Bossypants.

  5. 5 booksnyc June 20, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    great list – I loved Bossypants and I think I heard the Admission is being made into a movie? If you like college/private school tales – I read The Year of the Gadfly by Jennifer Miller recently and thought it was very good.


  1. 1 Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On Your Fall TBR List « bookwanderer Trackback on September 4, 2012 at 8:43 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 124 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


