Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Confessions

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a topic and encourage fellow bloggers to list their own top ten answers. This week’s prompt was to list your top ten bookish confessions! Now I’ve been lax on keeping up with TTT, but now that my life has settled down somewhat, post-move, I’m going to start them up again. 🙂

1. I used to be absolutely neurotic about keeping my books in good condition. In middle and high school, I actually hated to lend out my books, because I knew that they would invariably come back with a gouge in the cover, or a broken binding, or worse. Shudder.

2. I have gotten MUCH better at letting my books get scuffed up! It no longer gives me a coronary to have a new book get a bent cover. I’ve also realized that if I lend out and recommend books, then I’ll have more people to talk about those books with–it’s worth a couple of dog-eared pages!

3. However…I still don’t like physically marking the pages of my books, and so I am a serial dog-ear-er. I never seem to have any bookmarks on hand, so dog-earing pages is the quickest and easiest way for me to remember where really excellent quotes or insights are.

4. I am also a book hoarder. I keep EVERY book that I’ve every bought. Even (and sometimes especially) ones that I hated. I have a ceiling-high bookshelf that’s entirely stuffed…and I need another one. :/ It’s an addiction. But I’m trying to get better about it!

5. The main reason I got an iPad was to read e-books. No regrets.

6. I love getting ARCs and galleys, because I love reading books I’m excited about, for free. But sometimes I worry that I’m reading too many ARCs in place of reading already-published books that have been on my TBR for ages.

7. I’m awed, inspired by, and intimidated by many of the established book bloggers out there. Their dedication, consistency, and writing blows me away! I sometimes struggle with my own posting schedule and developing insights about everything I read, so the book blogging community is super-impressive to me!

8. I’m on a personal mission to not buy any full-price books this year. (I started this promise in May.) I’ve been successful so far! But my downfall is the used bookstore. How can I turn down three books for three dollars?! It doesn’t help that I work pretty close to the Strand, and that I have an account on Better World Books.

9. My bookshelf is organized by genre, but I almost always just find books by memory.

10. Once, I couldn’t find my copy of Angela Carter’s The Bloody Chamber, hunted for it in a frenzy for a day or so, gave up, and bought a new copy. (I think I may have even requested the new copy as a birthday present!) Naturally, the original one surfaced and I now have two.

Bonus #11! I lent my copy of Connie Willis’ Doomsday Book to my boyfriend. We both forgot about it. When we were moving earlier this summer, I discovered it under our bed, crumpled up and with torn pages. I am now forcing him to buy me a new copy, but I still really bad about my original one getting destroyed.

What are your deepest, darkest bookish secrets?

4 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Confessions”


  1. 1 Juli @ Universe in Words August 28, 2012 at 9:38 am

    I agree with your Nr 6, sometimes I worry I don’t get through my wish list enough because I’m reading review requests all the time! And Nr 7 as well, some of those out there are so good and they post a review every day and I simply can’t find the time! 😄 Thanks for sharing 🙂
    My Confessions
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  2. 2 Crystal @ Elegantly Bound Books August 28, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    OMG I totally hate to buy books at full price! The only time i do is when I go to a book signing at an indie bookstore so I can support the owner! I buy the majority of my books off Amazon or other really cheap sites! Awesome confessions 🙂 My TTT:

    Crystal @ Elegantly Bound Books

  3. 3 Erica Drayton August 28, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    You should check out my list. We have a few things in common. Namely that I can’t stand my books to look disheveled. I see you’re better about it now. Unfortunately, I can’t see me changing my position there! lol

    I currently have 4 book cases in my bedroom and I’m getting one more for the living room. My bedroom has so many book cases already I was forced to put on in my closet! I’ve got piles of books as well next to my bed that I’m going to put on shelving I’m installing on the wall space I have left around my bedroom. I like to see my books and know they are surrounding me while I sleep which is why I prefer them to all be in my room. I probably buy 3-5 brand new books every week!!

    Thanks for sharing your list! It’s good to know I’m not alone out there!

  4. 4 Brie @ Eat Books August 28, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    Until very recently, I used to be the same way – I would keep EVERY.SINGLE.BOOK I ever owned. But moving across the country a few times has changed that – now I will get rid of books I absolutely hated (which isn’t many), or books that I’ve outgrown – like all of Candace Bushnell’s books (except for Sex in the City). I will never read them again and wouldn’t ever recommend them to a friend.

    I’m also in awe (and intimidated) of the successful book bloggers out there! I’m really trying to post more consistently, but I find that sometimes it seems to take forever to get my thoughts out about a book. And then before I know it, 4-5 days have passed and I haven’t posted anything 😦

    Great list! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 125 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


