Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten “Older” Books You Don’t Want People To Forget About

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a topic and encourage fellow bloggers to list their own top ten answers. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday asks us to post the top ten “older” books we don’t want people to forget about! The definition of “older” in this case is pretty loose, but the goal is to highlight books that might be forgotten about or passed over in the flurry to read new releases. I’m choosing to interpret this as books I enjoyed when I was a youngster that have never seemed to reach a wider audience, at least that I’ve seen.

1. Catwings, by Ursula K. LeGuin
I loved this book when I was younger! And it was only recently that I discovered that LeGuin had written this book, about a family of cats inexplicably born with wings. (This might signal that I had naturally good taste as a child, which is not true at all; I just read whatever I got my hands on!) While it isn’t as famous as her later works, like The Left Hand of Darkness, it’s still a moving, quietly interesting novel that is perhaps more suitable for a younger audience.

2. Serengeti Cats, by Alice Schick
Another favorite of mine as a young reader, Serengeti Cats is actually a novel detailing the lives of a lion cub, a cheetah cub, and a leopard cub as they grow up in the African plains. The mix of actual information about the great cats and the novelization of their lives had me spell-bound. If you have a kid in your life who loves animals but doesn’t want to read dry nonfiction about them, this would be a great gift.

3. The Darkangel Trilogy, by Meredith Ann Pierce
Before Bella and Edward, there was Aeriel and Irrylath. I think this series introduced me to the concept of angst, and subsequently made me a lifelong devotee. While her second YA fantasy trilogy, The Firebringer Trilogy, is considered more popular, I absolutely loved the moody, dark fairytale atmosphere of The Darkangel. It is heartbreaking, inspiring, and hopeful all at once.

4. Loch, by Paul Zindel
Like Catwings, Loch was a book written by a popular and well-known author, in this case Paul Zindel, who also wrote YA classic The Pigman. . And again like Catwings, Loch represented a less popular entry in the author’s oeuvre. Because I was a hugely nerdy child, I loved reading about I also remember it as being one of the first books I had read to contain a level of casual violence that appealed to me. (So be aware, if your kids read this one, that there are gory scenes of people getting eaten!)

5. Raptor Red, by Robert T. Bakker
Told from the point-of-view of a female velociraptor, Raptor Red is the story of what the day-to-day life of a large, carnivorous dinosaur might look like. The world-building is phenomenal and Raptor Red herself is a wonderfully-written, sympathetic, decidedly-non-human heroine. Bakker treats his subject with remarkable insight and imagination, and has the academic credentials to back it all up. You don’t even have to be a dinosaur fan to enjoy this book (though who doesn’t like dinosaurs?!). Just an FYI: there is dinosaur sex in this one.

6. D’Aulaires Book of Greek Myths, by Ingri D’Aulaire and Edgar Parin D’Aulaire
Such a classic! The best possible way to learn your Greek mythology was with this collection. There are certain illustrations that I can recall from memory to this day.

7. The Babysitters Club Series, by Ann M. Martin
These are pretty well-known, but I feel like YA has really shifted away from this sort of episodic, realistic, younger-reader fare. These books were a source of major bonding with some of the gals who are my best friends to this day, and I definitely wanted to start my own babysitters club. Don’t let the BSC be forgotten!

8. The Unicorn Chronicles, by Bruce Coville
Better known for the My Teacher is an Alien books, Coville nonetheless can spin a good yarn about an imperiled fantasy world and the girl who finds herself stuck there. I think I only read the first in the series, but even now I’d like to know what happens to Cara and Lightfoot.

9. Sixth Grade Secrets, by Louis Sachar
As a fifth-grader, I really enjoyed this book, probably because the characters in it were slightly rebellious and got into trouble, two things I never would have done at school. The relationships between the girls and boys also struck me as being realistic, and it was probably one of the first times in my life that I actively ‘shipped a literary couple. Very engaging and very funny.

10. Julie of the Wolves, by Jean Craighead George
I am a Jean Craighead George megafan, so I hope that ALL of her books remain popular! However, my sentimental favorite has got to be Julie of the Wolves. I probably read and reread this a hundred times as a kid, always imagining myself as Julie. She is a great heroine, and the wolves have unique and interesting personalities.

What older books do you hope remain unforgotten?

18 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten “Older” Books You Don’t Want People To Forget About”


  1. 1 readerbuzz October 2, 2012 at 6:04 am

    These are all great choices and most are unknown to me! Yippee! Just what I love! Thank you for sharing them.

    Here’s my Ten “Older” Books I Hope You Won’t Forget. I hope you will stop by!

  2. 3 Jamie B. (@brokeandbookish) October 2, 2012 at 7:01 am

    Haven’t read any of these except the Babysitter’s Club! YAY! Love finding new books to check out!

    My Top Ten

  3. 5 Becky@Cardigans, Coffee and Bookmarks October 2, 2012 at 8:26 am

    I LOVED Catwings as well. I took it to tutoring with me last year to make sure this generation does as well, lol. I also was a huge Bruce Coville fan, and thought you could never go wrong with unicorns haha. There are so many better vampire novels that Twilight, and the Darkangel was on my list too.

    • 6 tarynwanderer October 2, 2012 at 12:23 pm

      How awesome! I love that you passed on your love of Catwings to others! As for unicorns, I think I could have had a list entirely made up of unicorns books…I was slightly obsessed as a kid. And yes, I think there are many vampire novels out there that put Twilight to shame! I’ll be sure to check out your book blog for some suggestions. 🙂

  4. 7 Rory O'Connor October 2, 2012 at 10:15 am

    I haven’t read any of these, but I do love Ursula Le Guin (save the Babysitters Club) – they sound interesting (especially Catwings).

  5. 11 Jae @ Book Nympho October 2, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Ooh, I want to read Raptor Red! I’ve never heard of it before but it sounds so cool. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • 12 tarynwanderer October 2, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      Thanks Jae! I went through a long period of being obsessed with dinosaurs when I was younger, and Raptor Red was unlike anything I had read before. I highly recommend it!

      Thanks for visiting!

  6. 13 Sara @ Just Another Story October 2, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    I don’t think I have heard of any of those books besides The Babysitter’s Club. But I never read those as a kid. I will look into more of the books you mentioned.

    My Top Ten Tuesday

  7. 15 Ula @ Blog of Erised October 9, 2012 at 7:46 am

    I don’t know any of these but I will definitely check these out. 🙂

    My TTT

  8. 16 Nina Happy Endings October 9, 2012 at 11:17 am

    I never heard of these books before!! 🙂 But, I can imagine children loving stories about a unicorn! 🙂

    J’adore Happy Endings

  9. 17 stuckinva October 9, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    LOVE the Darkangel trilogy–have you read the Birth of the Firebringer trilogy? It’s fantastic, as well.

    Julie of the wolves was one of my favorites growing up. I still have my copy somewhere!


  1. 1 Book Review: Raptor Red by Robert T. Bakker | Book Nympho Trackback on February 4, 2013 at 1:01 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 124 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


