Top Ten Tuesday REWIND: Top Ten Book Romances That Would Make It In The Real World

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created to share lists with other bookish folks! For this week’s Top Ten Tuesday list, we’ve got a rewind–we can choose any past Top Ten Tuesday subject that we missed! I chose August 14’s prompt: the top ten book romances that I think would make it in the real world!

1. Seraphina and Lucian, from Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
What makes this relationship great is that it’s just two sides of a very realistic and interesting love triangle. (Also great is the fact that Seraphina is strong, talented, independent, and concerned with many other things other than romantic love–take notes, Bella!–and that theirs is not an “insta-love” by any means!) In the real world, I see Seraphina as a composer or professional singer, and Lucian as the police officer that falls in love with her.

2. Judge Holden and Violence, from Blood Meridan by Cormac McCarthy
In opposition to the Kid’s indifference and attempts to do the right thing occasionally, Blood Meridian‘s Judge Holden is a symbol, pure evil personified. And apparently the Judge and his murderous gang were based on a real historical group, the Glanton scalphunter gang. So, with all that said, can you see the Judge with anyone romantically? (Or even just non-murderously?) Nope. So that just leaves me to pair Judge Holden with his one true love: violence.

3. Lyra and Will, from the His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman
Although Lyra and Will are children, their relationship is never treated as less real or important than a relationship between adults. They compliment each others’ strengths and pretty much save the world(s) between them. If they were somehow pulled from their world(s) into ours, I think their romance would have had the chance it needed to fully blossom, rather than being cut off mid-bloom.

4. Isadora Wing and Nobody, from Fear of Flying by Erica Jong
Listen, I know there’s a sequel or two out there that probably solve the cliffhanger Fear of Flying ends on–does she or doesn’t she get back together with her intelligent and long-suffering but moody and withdrawn husband? However, I’ve realized that the conclusion I like best is the one I’ve imagined:  Isadora doesn’t get together with anyone; instead, she lives a swingin’ single life well into her ’80s, has sex when and how she wants it, and never has to become anyone’s housewife or nursemaid again.

5. Newland Archer and Ellen Olenska, from The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
Augh. Well-written angst will get me like nothing else. Archer and Olenska are clearly meant for each other, and yet are kept apart by secrets, scandal, and the strict social conventions of the time period. However, if they existed here and now, I think they would be an amazingly witty and wonderful NYC power-couple.

6. Sabriel and Touchstone, from Sabriel by Garth Nix
Just a wonderfully-realistic romance between two teenagers on a quest to rescue Sabriel’s father. Oh, and their first kiss is awesome: Sabriel bites Touchstone’s mouth to revive him from the realm of Death. See? Awesome.

7. Hermione and Being Awesome, from the Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling
Ron’s fine, but I’ve always been fond of single and sassy Hermione myself. It’s unrealistic to think that Rowling wasn’t going to include romance, but I never really shipped any particular pairings. (Perhaps because I was older than the characters when the books were coming out.) Anyway, I loved that Hermione didn’t apologize for being an intelligent and outspoken girl–and that she never pretended to be anything less than what she was to spare the guys’ feelings. Young women need more role models like Hermione!

8. Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy, from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
The epitomy of a great literary relationship! These two should be on every relationship-based list. The drama! The angst! The misunderstands! And through it all, Elizabeth and Darcy’s underlying quiet affection for one another.

9. Madeleine and Unrealistic Expectations/Poor Decision-Making, from The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides
I don’t want to spoil anything, but trust me, you’ll know which decision I mean when you get to it.

10. I’ll leave this one open!

 

So what are some of the literary romances that you think would make it in the real world?

9 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday REWIND: Top Ten Book Romances That Would Make It In The Real World”


  1. 1 Ula @ Blog of Erised October 9, 2012 at 7:12 am

    Lyra and Will, awh, my favorite OTP from when I was little. 😀
    I agree with you on Hermione but I love how she ended up with Ron. They’re so completely different, my fave OTP ever. 😀

    My TTT

  2. 2 Grad Student @ Young Adult Fiction and Whiskey Sours October 9, 2012 at 7:25 am

    OH MAN I cannot wait to read Seraphina and find out first hand- I just got it from the library 🙂

  3. 3 Erin @ Quixotic Magpie October 9, 2012 at 7:49 am

    I love your post! Very interesting, I will be thinking about other romances that could survive in reality all day now. I love single independent Hermione too – but if she had to end up with someone, I like Ron. He allows her to be her and isn’t intimidated by her.

  4. 4 Helene October 9, 2012 at 9:14 am

    Great list! I cried so hard at the end of His Dark Materials. If there are two people who should be together it should be them! They would definitely make it in the real world!

    My TTT

  5. 5 Mary-The Sweet Bookshelf October 9, 2012 at 9:14 am

    I think Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy are the epitome of romance. This happens in SO many books {and real life} to count! Such a perfect love story.

  6. 6 Brittany October 9, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Hermione and being awesome! Hahaha I love it. It’s so true though! I love how she made knowledge empowering. Great list! It was so much fun to read.

  7. 7 rubybastille October 9, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    Haha, I like your character/abstract matchups! And thank you for reminding me about Will and Lyra’s goodbye…excuse me while I go weep in the bathroom…

    Also, I’m gonna have to disagree about Archer and Ellen being meant for each other – Archer struck me as the wishy-washiest guy ever. Even though he may have ultimately preferred Ellen, I felt like you’d have to put a gun to the guy’s head to get him to actually pick. Not that they wouldn’t be great together, just that he’d be constantly daydreaming about his sweet innocent secretary or something if they were in our world. 😉

  8. 8 Shelver506 October 10, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    Seraphina! *happy dance* I don’t particularly like the way the romance left off, because I feel sorry for the uninformed “other woman,” but they truly were an adorable pairing.

    My TTT: http://shelversanon.blogspot.com/2012/10/top-10-tuesday-rewind-top-ten-bookish.html

  9. 9 Renee October 10, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    haha! I love that you included Hermione and her Awesomeness. I’m fine with her and Ron as a couple (not ecstatic, but fine), but I think I would have preferred a single, sassy, independent Hermione at the end of the series instead. She’s such a great character and role model.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 125 other followers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive


