Fridays Finds (Feb 12)!

 What great books did you hear about/discover this past week? Share with us your FRIDAY FINDS! Hosted by MizB at, where else, Should Be Reading.

Some interesting Friday Finds for ol’ tarynwanderer this week!

                         

  • Out, by Natsuo Kirino, is a psychological thriller about four Japanese women with unhappy lives who become linked and tangled due to a murder. First spotted (it’s a striking cover!) being read on the 1 train uptown, I’ve had it in the back of my mind to read for ages now. I’ve already marked it as a ‘to-read’ on my Goodreads.
  • Wolf Hall, by Hilary Mantel, is about Thomas Cromwell, a commoner who becomes one of King Henry VIII’s most trusted advisers and influential in the creation of the Church of England. I had heard this title  bandied about, but only really got interested in reading after books i done read’s review. Originally I thought it was a fantasy novel (with that title, come on!) but it still sounds like a totally interesting and engaging portrait of someone that history has been less than kind to.
  • Picking Bones From Ash,  by Marie Mutsuki Mockett, is a tale of a mother and a daughter, post-war Japan, coming-of-age, and family secrets. What can I say? I LOVE the title. And that cover, holy crap–it’s gorgeous. And according to Amazon, there is a mix of magical realism and history too. Definitely on my TBR list!

10 Responses to “Fridays Finds (Feb 12)!”


  1. 1 Alayne February 12, 2010 at 9:42 am

    Ooh Wolf Hall is a great pick. Thanks for visiting The Crowded Leaf.

  2. 3 Aleksandra February 12, 2010 at 11:00 am

    I’m planning to read Wolf Hall for the Take Another Chance Challenge 🙂

  3. 5 diane February 12, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    I LOVED Picking Bone From Ash; highly recommended.

  4. 7 Aths February 13, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    I hope you enjoy Wolf Hall! Have heard a lot of good things of the book!

  5. 9 Stephanie February 14, 2010 at 9:13 am

    These look really good! I keep reading terrific things about Wolf Hall.


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 123 other subscribers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive