Teaser Tuesday (Feb 23)!

Teaser Tuesday is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading.  Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This Teaser Tuesday is from The Forever War, by Joe Haldeman, which I started yesterday.

It’s a dark, sci-fi treatment of the Vietnam War that pits the forcibly-drafted intellectual and physical elite of humanity against an alien species they know nothing about. (An aside: Now, I’ve got an iron-clad stomach when it comes to books [American Psycho, Under the Skin, Dexter, and Joyce Carol Oates‘s works are all on my “been read” list] but there was a scene here that literally gave me vertigo. It probably didn’t help that I was reading it while on a crowded 1 train.)

Anyway, the Teaser!

Still no Marygay among the dim figures picking their way through the ranked couches and jumbled tubing. “Um, you were only a couple of minutes late…but we were only supposed to be under for four hours, maybe less. It’s 1050.”

“Um.” He shook his head again. I let go of him and stood back to let Stiller and Demy through the door.

“Everybody’s late, then,” Bergman said. “So we aren’t in any trouble.”

“Uh–” Non sequiturs. “Right, right–Hey, Stiller! You seen–”

From inside: “Medic! MEDIC!”

17 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday (Feb 23)!”


  1. 1 Paul February 23, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Thank you for commenting on my blog.

    Great teaser. I will have to look out for this book.

    • 2 tarynwanderer February 23, 2010 at 4:04 pm

      Thanks for returning the favor, Paul! And I’m only about halfway through, but I’d definitely recommend The Forever War for sci-fi fans.

  2. 3 Cheryl "Mash" February 23, 2010 at 9:14 am

    The 2 yells for medic definitely is a teaser.
    CMashLovesToRead

  3. 5 Mary February 23, 2010 at 9:27 am

    I don’t think I have anything resembling an iron-clad stomach when it comes to my reading. Good teaser.

    • 6 tarynwanderer February 23, 2010 at 4:03 pm

      Mine’s only for reading–sit me down in front of a horror film and I’ll cover my eyes and ears the entire time. 🙂

  4. 9 Lori @ Escape Between The Pages February 23, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Love the cover, not sure it would be something I would read though. Enjoy your book. Here’s Mine.

  5. 11 robert February 23, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Yes, a sudden breaking in of something rather scary!

  6. 13 kaye February 23, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Seems like an odd coupling – sci-fi and the Vietnam war. Hope you’re enjoying the book other than this bout of vertigo.
    Have a good week and happy reading. My teaser is here .

  7. 15 Sassy Brit (Alternative-Read.com) February 23, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Oh my! I want it! Thank you for adding another to my TBR list! LOL *Rolls eyes and checks her purse* I have an iron-clad stomach, so I should be good with this 🙂

    Thanks for popping by – gotta add this to my Friday Finds, before I forget!

    • 16 tarynwanderer February 23, 2010 at 8:26 pm

      Glad to “help!” Haha.

      The gore is honestly not all that bad, but it is a downer of a book. It’s really very good though! Enjoy!

  8. 17 Dana February 23, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    Interesting teaser! Thanks for visiting!


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 123 other subscribers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive