WWW Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday (Feb 24)

For Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, this week my pick is Pegasus by Robin McKinley. (My feelings about unicorns are also my feelings about pegasi.)

The blurb, via Robin McKinley’s website:

Because of a thousand-year-old alliance between humans and pegasi, Princess Sylviianel is ceremonially bound to Ebon, her own pegasus, on her twelfth birthday. The two species coexist peacefully, despite the language barriers separating them. Humans and pegasi both rely on specially-trained Speaker magicians as the only means of real communication.

But it’s different for Sylvi and Ebon. They can understand each other. They quickly grow close—so close that their bond becomes a threat to the status quo—and possibly to the future safety of their two nations.

Pegasus comes out in November 2010. (I was alerted to this one by The Book Smugglers, a hilarious book reviewing site that you should check out if you don’t already!)

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB at Should be Reading.  To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading? Nearly done with The Forever War, by Joe Haldeman, which I described in my Teaser Tuesday yesterday. It takes the weariness, the disillusionment, and the isolation felt by many Vietnam vets and looks at it through a sci-fi lens. An unexpectedly powerful and moving book.

 

 

What did you recently finish reading? Good Omens, by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman. It was my first read EVER of Pratchett’s and I have to say, I really enjoyed it. (I’ve already read some of Gaiman’s work.)

 

 

 

What do you think you’ll read next? Decisions, decisions! I’m going on a trip this weekend, so I need to pull something I already have on my shelves to take with me. I’m thinking Fingersmith, by Sarah Waters.

15 Responses to “WWW Wednesday/Waiting on Wednesday (Feb 24)”


  1. 1 Nina February 24, 2010 at 9:05 am

    Your first Pratchett book, congratulations. He is one of my favourite author, he writes so beautiful and funny at the same time. I would recommend Johnny and the dead, hilarious and short! 🙂

    On to the WOW pick:
    Great one, I have to say i had to look up the word pegasi. I had no idea what they where. This book looks and sounds very interesting and different than I normally read. I mean no werewolves, no vampires? LOL.
    Again: great pick!

    • 2 tarynwanderer February 24, 2010 at 12:40 pm

      Thanks for the recommendations, Nina! Pratchett is hilarious and I need to read more of his. There were moments in Good Omens where I had to stifle laughter, seriously!

      And haha, I’m not actually sure if pegasi is the plural of pegasus…but I like how it sounds, like octopi and octopus! Hey, there may be vampires in it. Or were-pegasi or something! 😉

  2. 3 Aleksandra February 24, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Wow, Pegasus sounds amazing! It goes on my wishlist! I haven’t read anything by Pratchett, but I have Good Omens on my shelf & I love Gaiman’s books. Oh, thanks for recommending The Book Smugglers, I’ll check it out & their header already made me smile 🙂

    • 4 tarynwanderer February 24, 2010 at 12:44 pm

      Doesn’t it sound good? 🙂 You should definitely read Good Omens next, it’s a lot of fun and brings up some good questions about morality to boot!

      (Their header is too cute!)

  3. 5 laurelrainsnow February 24, 2010 at 9:50 am

    That is a haunting cover and compelling storyline! BTW, you have a lovely blog header, too!

    Mine is here:

    http://laurel-rainsnowsaccidentallife.blogspot.com/2010/02/waiting-on-wednesday_24.html

    • 6 tarynwanderer February 24, 2010 at 12:43 pm

      Thanks for visiting, Laurel! I’m about to check yours out now. And thanks for the compliment–that’s a photo I took in Tulum on my last trip to Mexico. 🙂

  4. 7 Sassy Brit (Alternative-Read.com) February 24, 2010 at 9:56 am

    I want Pegasus too! Gosh! You are really adding to my TBR list!!

    Haven’t done this meme (www Weds) properly as it’s new to me, but I will do next week. So I’d like to share what I have just read, if you don’t mind! 🙂

    HERE!

  5. 9 Alayne February 24, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Your WOW pick is fabulous. My Wednesday postings are at The Crowded Leaf.

  6. 11 Boof February 24, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Oh I love the sound of that book! Thanks so much for posting, I think this will be right up my street.

    Here is my WOW.

  7. 13 softdrink February 24, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Good Omens cracked me up…it was my intro to Gaiman. I’ve yet to read any other Pratchett though. Just the opposite of you.


  1. 1 Waiting on Wednesday/WWW Wednesday « bookwanderer Trackback on March 3, 2010 at 8:47 am

Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 123 other subscribers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive