Teaser Tuesday (Mar 9)!

Teaser Tuesdays are a weekly book meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. To play along:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I finished Joe Hill’s Horns over the weekend (review coming soon!) so no book memes for that. I’ve just started The Boys of my Youth by Jo Ann Beard, a collection of personal essays that I’m going to be counting towards the Women Unbound Challenge.

The teaser:

Through the glass of the back door, framed by my grandmother’s lace curtains, a face wearing a creature-feature mask. Black hair, forehead, two stunned eyes, and then the rest is blood. It looks like my dad.

(Despite what it sounds like, this isn’t a horror story! The collection is made up of creative non-fiction essays describing Beard’s life growing up in the Midwest. Yup, I’m trying a memoir again! Let’s hope I like it better than the last one.)

34 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday (Mar 9)!”


  1. 1 Amanda Makepeace March 9, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Interesting teaser. I’ve not read a memoir in ages. Thanks for commenting on my Spellwright teaser. I am enjoying the story. It’s refreshingly different than many of Fantasy novels I’ve read.

    • 2 tarynwanderer March 9, 2010 at 1:04 pm

      I was definitely intrigued by your teaser. I’ve been looking for a solid fantasy read.

      Thanks for returning the favor! 🙂

  2. 3 Whitney March 9, 2010 at 8:54 am

    creepy!I’d be sleeping with one eye open if my dad pulled tricks like that on me. Good teaser!

  3. 7 Mary March 9, 2010 at 9:06 am

    I’ll be watching for your review!

  4. 9 Jennifer G. March 9, 2010 at 9:08 am

    I remember a guy answering the door on Halloween wearing a mask like that, and my sister and I, both still very small, running screaming back to the car! It’s left a mark! Very good tease!

    • 10 tarynwanderer March 9, 2010 at 1:07 pm

      Haha! Cute story. 🙂 In my family, I was usually the one scaring my younger brother. Not with masks, though–just by waiting behind a corner in the dark and jumping out at him! (I’m not evil, I swear…)

  5. 11 Jennifer March 9, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Your teaser left me wanting to know more. I tend to enjoy memoirs.

  6. 13 Alayne March 9, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Hope you’re liking it! Nice teaser. Mine is at The Crowded Leaf.

  7. 17 Jan @ Eating Y.A. Books March 9, 2010 at 10:05 am

    This sounds interesting, although I am not into reading memoirs myself. Still the author is from the Midwest and this teaser has piqued my interest.

    • 18 tarynwanderer March 9, 2010 at 1:09 pm

      She does a great job describing the Midwest, I think. I’ve never been there, but I can relate to a lot of what she talks about!

      Thanks for visiting, Jan!

  8. 19 laurelrainsnow March 9, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Wow! This one intrigues me…and even though I’ve done a lot of memoirs lately, this does sound like one to check out!

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  9. 21 Celia March 9, 2010 at 10:48 am

    I’m glad for your explanation – that sounds pretty creepy on its own! Hope you enjoy your reading. And great teaser, by the way!

    If you’d like, you can check out mine here.

    • 22 tarynwanderer March 9, 2010 at 1:10 pm

      Haha, I figured people might think I was reading a horror or a thriller and wanted to clear it up right away!

      Heading over to your blog ASAP!

  10. 23 Barbara On the Bookcase March 9, 2010 at 10:58 am

    loved Heart Shaped Box — looking forward to reading your review.
    And, thanks for visiting On the Bookcase.
    A favor, please email me on how to link to my blog through a word like Here’e “mine” or my “teaser” I can’t figure it out:(
    bmead at readinggroupchoices dot com Thanks

    for anyone else, here’s mine http://blog.readinggroupchoices.com/content/blog/barbara/10/march/teaser-tuesday-39-beautiful-between

    • 24 tarynwanderer March 9, 2010 at 1:11 pm

      Thanks Barbara! My Horns review should be up by the end of the week.

      I sent you an email that hopefully you’ll find helpful. 🙂

  11. 25 Lori @ Escape Between The Pages March 9, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Okay that is a freaky teaser… Enjoy your book! Here’s Mine

  12. 27 Bina March 9, 2010 at 11:41 am

    That´s pretty creepy, but intriguing! I love reading essays.

    Here´s mine: http://ifyoucanreadthis.wordpress.com/2010/03/09/teaser-tuesday-17/

    • 28 tarynwanderer March 9, 2010 at 1:16 pm

      I do too! In this case, I think the title may have been misleading–it’s much more about Beard and her family and growing up.

      Thanks for visiting!

  13. 29 Isalys Blackwell March 9, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Definitely has a heck of a way of getting your attention though, hehe.

    Here are our teasers for this week!

    ♥Isalys

  14. 31 kaye March 9, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    Memoirs and I just don’t mesh for some reason. I’ve yet to find one that has appealed to me. I hope you’re enjoying this one. Have a good week and happy reading. My teaser is here

    • 32 tarynwanderer March 9, 2010 at 3:57 pm

      I hear ya! I’ve struggled with some memoirs in the past; for me, reading biographies is usually more enjoyable. However, I think this might be the one that makes me like memoirs! 🙂

  15. 33 Dana March 9, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Woah, very interesting (and slightly creepy…) teaser. Non-fiction short stories is interesting, hope you’re enjoying this!

  16. 34 Aths March 9, 2010 at 11:53 pm

    If you hadn’t insisted that it isn’t a horror story, I would have assumed that! Nice teaser!


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 123 other subscribers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive