Waiting on Wednesday/WWW Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that highlights books that haven’t yet been released. For my Waiting on Wednesday pick this week, I chose Corrag, by Susan Fletcher (on the strength of Teresa’s positive review on Shelf Love).

The description, via Amazon:

The Massacre of Glencoe happened at 5am on 13th February 1692 when thirty-eight members of the Macdonald clan were killed by soldiers who had enjoyed the clan’s hospitality for the previous ten days. Many more died from exposure in the mountains. Fifty miles to the south Corrag is condemned for her involvement in the Massacre. She is imprisoned, accused of witchcraft and murder, and awaits her death. The era of witch-hunts is coming to an end – but Charles Leslie, an Irish propagandist and Jacobite, hears of the Massacre and, keen to publicise it, comes to the tollbooth to question her on the events of that night, and the weeks preceding it. Leslie seeks any information that will condemn the Protestant King William, rumoured to be involved in the massacre, and reinstate the Catholic James. Corrag agrees to talk to him so that the truth may be known about her involvement, and so that she may be less alone, in her final days. As she tells her story, Leslie questions his own beliefs and purpose – and a friendship develops between them that alters both their lives. In Corrag, Susan Fletcher tells us the story of an epic historic event, of the difference a single heart can make – and how deep and lasting relationships that can come from the most unlikely places.

Wow, sounds powerful, doesn’t it? Corrag comes out in the U.S on November 15th.

For WWW Wednesday this week, hosted by MizB at  Should Be Reading, my answers are below:

What are you currently reading? Finishing up The Boys of My Youth, by Jo Ann Beard. It’s a collection of creative non-fictions essays, mostly about Beard’s childhood in the Midwest, her family, and her relationships (with her husband, her best friend, her cousin, even her dogs). This was given to me for Christmas by one of my besties, and I’m glad she did, because I probably wouldn’t have picked it up on my own.

What did you recently finish reading? Over the weekend I finished Joe Hill’s new novel, Horns. Ig Perrish, suspected murderer, wakes up one morning with horns growing out of his head–horns that make people do strange things. We follow Ig as he tries to find the person who killed his girlfriend, and learn about Ig’s childhood, friends, and family on the way.

What do you think you’ll read next? The Commoner, by John Burnham Schwartz. I got it in the mail last week, finally, and have been itching to start it ever since! The book is a fictionalized account of one girl’s rise from middle-class to wife of the Emperor, based off of the real-like Empress Michiko of Japan. It got a starred review from Publishers Weekly, too.

Got a Waiting on Wednesday or WWW Wednesday post? Link to it in the comments! 🙂

9 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday/WWW Wednesday”


  1. 1 Jan @ Eating Y.A. Books March 10, 2010 at 9:23 am

    This really does sound like a fantastic read. I love anything with a bit of history attached. Makes me want to start reading more than just YA.

  2. 2 Alayne March 10, 2010 at 10:53 am

    Thanks for visiting The Crowded Leaf. Your WOW pick looks intriguing!

  3. 3 Lori @ Escape Between The Pages March 10, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Impressive list of books. I hope that you enjoy your WoW book when you get it. Here’s Mine.

  4. 4 The Book Whisperer March 10, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Ohhhhhh, you’ll LOVE Corrag! It is the most amazing book I have read in a long time; just so beautifully written.

    If you’re interested, I have reviewed it on my blog and also interviewed the author, Susan Fletcher.

    I really hope you enjoy this book!

  5. 5 Mary March 10, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    Corrag does sound good!

  6. 6 laurelrainsnow March 10, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Oh, these sound and look really good! I didn’t read Joe Hill’s first book, but I’m thinking I should.

    Here’s mine:

    http://seasonsbylaurelrain.blogspot.com/2010/03/wwwwednesdays.html

  7. 7 Teresa March 10, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    I do hope you enjoy Corrag. I only wish it were being released sooner here.

  8. 8 Inthehammockblog March 10, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Corrag looks really interesting! Enjoy your books!

  9. 9 Jennifer G. March 12, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    Ooo, you’ve got me wanting to visit Scotland. This sounds great! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 123 other subscribers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive