Waiting on Wednesday/WWW Wednesday (Mar 17)

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that highlights books that haven’t yet been released. For my Waiting on Wednesday pick this week, I chose The Island, by Elin Hilderbrand. 

 

The summary, via Borders: 

Four women head to Tuckernuck for a retreat, hoping to escape their troubles. Intead, they find only drama, secrets, and life-changing revelations. 

In both setting and substance, it reminds me of The Lace Reader–in a good way: remote island, family secrets, strong women. I found this one thanks to Jill at Breaking the Spine, as well as a few other blogs that have highlighted it in the past few weeks. The Island comes out on July 6, 2010. 

For WWW Wednesday this week, hosted by MizB at  Should Be Reading, my answers are below: 

What are you currently reading? I started Pete Hamill’s Forever a few days ago, and am using it to fulfill the awesome Fizzy Thoughts New York Challenge. The first 60 or so pages were slow going for me, but now I’m getting to the really good bits and flying through it. 

  

  

What did you recently finish reading? The Commoner, by John Burnham Schwartz. It’s about the first “commoner” to be married into Japan’s royal family, who were viewed as gods by the public. Review coming soon, I promise! 

  

  

   

 

What do you think you’ll read next?
I’ve got a ton of unread books on my shelves right now. (I seem to go through droughts of new books, and then overcompensate and get 10 new ones…and feel guilty that they’re just sitting there, waiting for me.) But I’m thinking perhaps Perfume, by Patrick Suskind.

13 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday/WWW Wednesday (Mar 17)”


  1. 1 diane March 17, 2010 at 8:03 am

    Sounds like this should be good; I’ve enjoyed several of her books in the past.

    Here is my WOW pick:

    http://bibliophilebythesea.blogspot.com/2010/03/waiting-on-wednesday-language-of-sand.html

  2. 3 Colleen March 17, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Forever is a great book! I loved all the NY history that was included in the story. Looking forward to your review!

    I may also be reading a Pete Hamill book for the NY challenge.

    • 4 tarynwanderer March 18, 2010 at 9:26 am

      It really is great, and I’m thankful for all of the positive reviews of it that I saw around the blog books! The New York City part has really drawn me in.

      Looking forward to YOUR review! 🙂

  3. 5 Alayne March 17, 2010 at 10:26 am

    Ooh The Island sounds really good. My WOW is similar, up at The Crowded Leaf.

  4. 7 Aleksandra March 17, 2010 at 11:37 am

    The Island sounds great! Also, I hope you’ll enjoy the others 😉
    Happy reading! 😀

    • 8 tarynwanderer March 18, 2010 at 9:27 am

      Thanks Aleksandra, I really am! I’ve been lucky so far in March and have been enjoying everything I’ve read.

  5. 9 Lori @ Escape Between The Pages March 17, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    I hope that you will enjoy your book.Here’s mine

  6. 11 Care March 17, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    I will be interested in your thoughts on Perfume. (I am thinking of adding it to my read-book-see-movie list)

    • 12 tarynwanderer March 18, 2010 at 9:30 am

      I’m excited to start it–it’s been on my TBR list for a while, and then I came across it by chance at a little secondhand bookstore in Boston! Lucky me 🙂

      I didn’t even know it had been made into a movie! (Shows how much I know.)

  7. 13 jill March 22, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    I’ve been out of town, so I just got a chance to visit this week. Glad I helped put this one on your radar…I love all of her books!


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 123 other subscribers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive