Friday Finds (Feb 26)!

Doing these a bit late this week, as I’m traveling today–hopefully, anyway, as New York is currently getting hit by another snowpocolypse. I really like snow, except when it may keep me from traveling. Anyway!

Friday Finds is hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. My Friday Finds this week (and I SWEAR, I didn’t realize they both had “yellow” in the title until I started this entry):

  • The Yellow Wallpaper, about a young woman who has just given birth confined to a small, barred room, and who is slowly driven insane, helped along by the hideous yellow wallpaper. Found this one when I was checking out the Women Unbound Challenge and out of curiosity, starting looking at past participants’ reading lists. I found a ton of books that sounded interesting, but this one took the cake. Best of all, it’s available for free online and as a PDF! (Nice review over at Booklust.)
  • The Yellow House, about a woman growing up, finding herself, and finding love in Northern Ireland during the tumultuous 1900s. It sounds like a really fantastic historical fiction novel for anyone interested in Irish history. Alayne from The Crowded Leaf introduced me to this one; check out her great review of it here.

What are YOUR Friday Finds? Leave a link in the comments!

8 Responses to “Friday Finds (Feb 26)!”


  1. 3 Christina T February 26, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Reminds me of a particular song by Coldplay 🙂

    Both of these look interesting. Is it sad that I think it is funny that the yellow wallpaper helped drive her insane? I grew up in a house with some really ugly 70s wallpaper and carpets (it took awhile before my parents could replace everything) so I can see where the wallpaper would drive her nuts.

    Here are my Friday Finds.

    • 4 tarynwanderer February 26, 2010 at 12:58 pm

      Ha! I didn’t even think of the Coldplay song!

      And nope, not at all…I can see her saying, “This wallpaper is driving me CRAZY!” and then, you know, actually going crazy. In the actual short story, I think it’s really the confined space, her’s husband complete control over her, etc, that drive her mad.

      Thanks for visiting!

      (And yes, the ’70s were a bad time for interior design!)

  2. 5 Alayne February 26, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Yay! The Yellow House is amazing. 🙂 Hope you get it soon. My find is at The Crowded Leaf. I’m finally adding you to my blogroll now!

    • 6 tarynwanderer February 26, 2010 at 1:00 pm

      I’m looking forward to reading it whenever a cheap copy comes up on Better World Books! Thanks for introducing me to it.

      Hey, thanks! You’re already on mine. 🙂

  3. 7 the little reader February 26, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    i have to agree that the cover of Yellow Wallpaper would drive me insane if it were on my walls, too.

    great finds!


  1. 1 The Women Unbound Challenge « bookwanderer Trackback on March 5, 2010 at 9:11 am

Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 123 other subscribers

Categories

My Goodreads

Blog Archive