Teaser Tuesday (Mar 2)!

Teaser Tuesdays are hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. To play along,

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
  • My teaser this week is from Fingersmith, by Sarah Waters. The description, via Amazon, is a “hypnotic suspense novel is awash with all manner of gloomy Dickensian leitmotifs: pickpockets, orphans, grim prisons, lunatic asylums, ‘laughing villains,’ and, of course, ‘stolen fortunes and girls made out to be mad.’ Divided into three parts, the tale is narrated by two orphaned girls whose lives are inextricably linked.”

    The teaser:

    I am seventeen when Richard Rivers comes to Briar with a plot and a promise and the story of a gullible girl who can be fooled into helping me do it.

    If you haven’t read Fingersmith, I HIGHLY recommend it. Review coming soon!

    28 Responses to “Teaser Tuesday (Mar 2)!”


    1. 1 Dana March 2, 2010 at 8:01 am

      Ooh, such a great book, glad you enjoyed it!

      • 2 tarynwanderer March 2, 2010 at 1:24 pm

        It’s so, so good. 🙂 And I first picked it up because of the great reviews I’ve seen on a ton of book blogs–I feel like I have all of you to thank…

    2. 3 Jennifer G. March 2, 2010 at 8:05 am

      Hmmm. Do what? Great teaser? I keep looking at this and not adding it to my list. I really just need to cave in and put it on there. It sounds great!

    3. 4 Jennifer G. March 2, 2010 at 8:06 am

      I didn’t mean to question if it’s a great teaser. I meant “Great teaser!” With an exclamation point. It’s late for me. Sorry. 🙂

    4. 6 Lori @ Escape Between The Pages March 2, 2010 at 8:43 am

      Cool teaser, loving the book cover. Here’s Mine.

      • 7 tarynwanderer March 2, 2010 at 1:25 pm

        Isn’t it a good mix of subtle and beautiful? I love the significance the gloves have in the book, too.

        Liked your teaser this week!

    5. 8 Jennifer March 2, 2010 at 9:17 am

      Very intriguing and now I want to know more, which makes this an excellent teaser!

    6. 10 kaye March 2, 2010 at 9:48 am

      Ooh, this sounds like a really good one. I love the cover. Here’s my teaser and giveaway

    7. 12 Isalys Blackwell March 2, 2010 at 10:22 am

      Interesting! Enjoy your book 🙂

      Here are our teasers for this week 🙂

      ♥Isalys

    8. 14 Alayne March 2, 2010 at 10:23 am

      This teaser definitely piques my interest. Great choice. Mine is at The Crowded Leaf.

    9. 16 Stephanie March 2, 2010 at 10:23 am

      This novel is on my TBR list. Great teaser!

      My teaser: A Bit of Chick Lit for Teaser Tuesday

    10. 18 The Literary Omnivore March 2, 2010 at 10:27 am

      Am I right in assuming it’s in present tense? I’m weirdly turned off by present tense historical novels… but I’m hearing such good things about this book. Thanks for stopping by The Literary Omnivore!

      • 19 tarynwanderer March 2, 2010 at 1:36 pm

        Parts of it are in present tense, but probably not the majority, and it’s honestly worth reading even if you dislike it! 🙂

      • 23 tarynwanderer March 2, 2010 at 4:38 pm

        I’m so close to finishing, I can’t stand it! 🙂 I now, perversely, want to drag it out, instead of racing to the finish.

        Thanks for dropping by!

    11. 24 Wanda March 2, 2010 at 1:41 pm

      Haven’t heard of this book but oooh, I do love the way that teaser sentence is constucted, awesome alliteration!

    12. 26 Barbara On the Bookcase March 2, 2010 at 3:44 pm

      that is my book club’s November read! have you seen the movie. Three years ago my book club read Tipping the Velvet. couple members were a bit turn off by subject matter but all love the period feeling and Water’s prose.

      thanks for stopping by On the Bookcase.

      • 27 tarynwanderer March 2, 2010 at 4:36 pm

        Ha, that’s great! I haven’t seen the movie–I didn’t even know there was one until I started looking for cover images. Have you seen it?

        Waters is a master at creating a good period atmosphere, it seems! Guess I’ll have to read Tipping the Velvet next. 🙂

    13. 28 Diane March 2, 2010 at 4:43 pm

      Great teaser; loved this book a lot!


    Leave a comment




    Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 123 other subscribers

    Categories

    My Goodreads

    Blog Archive